Winner, Winner Chicken Dinner!

Fancy some proper pucka grub?

As you can probably tell from the above line, I’m no Jamie Oliver but I do love his books and, as I’ve maybe mentioned in other posts, to save money. Enter ‘Save with Jamie’ 2 of my favourite things combined ‘Could life get any better than this?’ I hear you ask. Quite simply- NO! Image

This time of year is ripe for roast dinners and stews so I was chuffed when MrT included a whole chicken in the weekly shop (I was busy working hard catching up on Downton don’t you know!) As is normal in our house- I do the roasts. It’s not that MrT can’t cook, he is a fab cook but we both know our strengths and the multi time and task management which a roast dinner requires is NOT his!!! The chicken dinner (stuffed with lemon and thyme) was, of course, delicious and provided plenty of left over veg for ‘Bubble and Squeak’ the next night- super stuff but what about the chicken?

The new ‘Save with Jamie’ book has a fab little ‘left over’ symbol for each main meet product, something I find really useful as I hate wasting food and try hard to use every morsel but I’m sometimes stuck for what else to do with it once the main dish and its leftover portions are eaten.Image

Jamie’s (first name terms) book answers this question and gives you lots of ideas for what to do with 1 basic base dish. So it was with a somewhat excited attitude (sad I know) that I attempted my first chicken stock boil off. If successful this would then combine with veg and chicken to form a stew.

Jamie tells you to

Strip up to 300g of meat off 1 leftover chicken carcass

I was sceptical. I mean, as far as I’m concerned, he is up there with Gandhi and the Dalai Lama as far as truth seeking and wisdom go but….. this is a carcass we’re talking about! I was amazed! Our Jamie hadn’t lied and I was gob-smacked to find out just how much meat there was! Once the carcass was stripped and in the pan of boiling water, I have to admit, I was less than impressed with its appearance but I persevered and was pleasantly surprised by how delicious it tasted once it was turned into a stew.

Image

This is the only ‘Save with Jamie’ recipe I’ve had a chance to try so far but I’m sure another dish won’t be far away- especially if the weather stays as miserable as this- ’tis grim up north I telt thee! (Cumbrian’s please don’t hate me!)

What are your favourite left over recipes?

Have you tried any of the ‘Save with Jamie’ leftovers dishes? What did you think?

Mrs T x

One thought on “Winner, Winner Chicken Dinner!

  1. Pingback: Waste Not, Want Not | Confessions of a Try-hard

Leave a Reply

